Fracking: Let Communities Decide

Open letter opposing ‘Permitted Development’ for shale gas exploration

If you are an MP or Councillor and wish to add your name to the open letter, please fill in this brief form and a member of the team will be in touch to confirm. 

The open letter will be published in the Autumn. If you have any questions, contact

View the text of the open letter below:

Dear Claire Perry MP (CC James Brokenshire MP, Greg Clark MP, Kit Malthouse MP),

The UK government has proposed changes to planning rules that would allow exploratory drilling for shale gas to be considered “permitted development”, removing the need for fracking companies to apply for planning permission.

The current planning framework for shale gas provides an important regulatory process for the industry, offering necessary checks and balances by local authorities who best understand the circumstances in their areas. Crucially, it also allows communities directly affected a say in how, and whether, shale gas exploration proceeds in their neighbourhoods.

We believe that applying permitted development to exploratory shale gas drilling represents a distortion of its intention and is a misuse of the planning system. Permitted Development was originally intended to be used to speed up planning decisions on small developments – like garden sheds or erecting a fence – not drilling for shale gas.

As elected representatives of our communities, we the undersigned call for the withdrawal of this proposal, and respect for the right of communities to make decisions on shale gas activities in their areas through the local planning system.

Yours Sincerely

[The undersigned]